Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Ok I am an experienced musician taht just started sax looking to have fun.
I have a tenor now.
I figure in a year if I am doing good Ill get an upgrade.
I would like to play two different saxes eventually.
My question is this.
is it easier to go from tenor to soprano since they are both b-flat?
I have heard sorano is hard. but I thought it would be easier to play tenor and sorano as they are both b-flat.
I would think that tenor to alto would be harder becouse of the transcription factor. I think it would get confusing.
With bass and guitar you dont transcribe anything.
I would think in my little prehistoric brain that alto to baritone would be easy becouse both are e-flat and tenor to soprano would be the same.
am I right or wrong or just a confused mess?
If this thread exist elsewhere I'M SORRY DONT STONE ME TO DEATH.
I searched and didnt see anywhere.
thanks
Dave:twisted:

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
14,268 Posts
Dave: Yes, it was recently discussed - hope the link sent by Carbs works.

In case it doesn't, I'll make this short. The Bb to Bb move doesn't tell the whole story. The size differentiation is what may give you the most trouble, I fear.

But not to worry - many folks have done it, and all other sorts of transitions, too (soprano to cornet, for instance). Good musicians have a way of overcoming those minor problems. DAVE

·
Registered
24 Posts