Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone,
Im primarily a tenor/jazz player and when I switched my major to music I had to start taking classical lessons on alto. Apparently my embouchure (teeth over bottom lip) has been wrong since I started playing. Im being told to only use my lip muscles, leave my jaw loose and not scrunch my chin. It turns out my lip muscles are very undeveloped. After only a few notes my jaw starts to tense up and support my lips.
Has anyone else gone through this or have some input that will help me strengthen these new muscles?

Thanks,
TenorGuy

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2013-
5,431 Posts
try carrying a mouthpiece around with you and practice playing long tones and scales on it with your new embouchure whenever you can

I put a rico in the glovebox for doing this to and from work

a little at a time but more often might help

this would be a good chance to use a plasticover reed

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
2,640 Posts
I play with my bottom lip rolled out all the way and very loose, just enough pressure to create a seal. I have always thought that my embouchure is more or a jazz players embouchure. It does take time to get used to but I think it is worth it. You gain a lot of tonal, pitch, overtones and volume control. Try playing mouthpiece only exercises. They will get your whole embouchure going well.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cGBL5QDtCQM

·
Banned
5,336 Posts
nefertiti said:
I hope you mean bottom lip over teeth? I have never heard of teeth over bottom lip..............
No wonder the teacher said it was wrong. :mrgreen:

Seriously to tone up the embouchure muscles:

smile whistle smile whistle 50 X then rest and repeat.................Teal

sit and watch a half hour TV show holding soda straw between your lips...........Sinta

make out a lot...................................your girlfriend (or significant other)