Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
4,579 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All, this is going to be long-winded so I apologize in advance. I've been studying with my teacher for going on 10 years now, and I'm in my early 40s with a full-time job, etc. I have been in a rock band since 2008, and 2 years ago I joined a jazz quintet that was put together as very much a side project for everyone involved, and mainly for fun. The jazz quintet gigs sporadically every few months, and we will play standards for a few hours for cash. Very loose, very informal, but fun.

My teacher has been on me for the last 6 months especially to "start my own group" and lead it. I really enjoy playing standards and that is what I'd want to do. I'd love to put together a quartet to play corporate gigs, or weddings, and focus on events that would be worth our time financially. I have a few questions.

In my shoes, with zero jazz connections, how does one go about putting together a group? Should I just go to jam sessions and network? My teacher has offered to help, but that leads to my 2nd (and bigger) issue.

I have almost crippling self-doubt about my abilities, and I feel incredibly inadequate especially when potentially playing with seasoned jazz musicians. My teacher swears I'm "ready" to do this, but I'm not, and don't want to embarrass myself or waste other people's time with my lame-*** playing. I've posted some things here before, if you've heard any of it, what do you think (honestly)?

Any direction or advise is appreciated. My teacher is more like a very close friend by now, and I know he has the best of intentions in mind for me. I don't think he'd set me up to fail, but he does have a tendency to kick me out of the nest to see if I can fly... if that makes sense.

Thanks all.

·
Registered
525 Posts