Sax on the Web Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I bought (and may return) a T992. A little background: I've been playing a Yamaha YTS-475 about 3 hours a day for the past two months. On the T992, E3 played with the front F key is *really* sharp, whereas F3 is normally pitched. So playing one after the other sounds awful. I had my instructor play the T992 and he loved it. Said if he had to buy a new horn, he'd buy the T992. He also said one off note isn't a big deal, but to me it's irksome. I guess my question is, Am I making too much out one bad note? Is it possible to smooth it out with technique?

What I may get instead is the 82Z. It's a lot more comfortable in my hands partly because I'm used to the yamaha brand, and because the stretch from the front F to the low Bb isn't as far. It's hard for me to stretch my fingers that far. I haven't found any comparisons between the two saxes, so they must not be considered similar.

I played the lacquered 82Z and the T992 side by side today for two solid hours - basically scales and stuff. The front E3 on the 82Z sounds shiotty, just as it does on the T992, but it isn't sharp at all on the 82Z.

Inescapable conclusion: The yani is more powerful or resonant or something. I was feeling the power as much as, or perhaps more than, hearing it - which is nice. I like to "buzz". I didn't buzz nearly as much with the 82Z.

That's probably enough blathering for now. Any general newbie advice will be appreciated. It isn't possible to insult my intelligence.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2016
4,881 Posts
I have a T990 and an 82Z. You're splitting hairs. They're both great horns. I maintain that the Z is a better horn in the upper register and altissimo and the Yanagisawa better in the midrange and below. The only reason I know each's shortcomings is because I have both. Otherwise I'd be more than happy with each of them exclusively if I had to... :)