Sax on the Web Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
179 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone,

I started playing jazz around March this year and I really enjoyed it, but it's like impossible to find a teacher. It's starting to really make me want to switch to sax but I just spent a lot of my summer job's pay to buy a new clarinet. The jazz community for saxophones is clearly vastly larger and everything seems more convenient like in this forum. Does anyone have any thoughts on this? I'm pretty sure most people here already play the sax though =.="

Thanks

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
2,620 Posts
I am a long-time clarinet player, and I started playing sax in large part because there is a lot more stuff you can play on sax, such as funk and R&B. Even a lot of big bands that at one time might have used clarinet now often have things scored just for saxes. There is some good stuff for clarinet, but yes, the opportunities and repertoire tend to be more limited.

Since you don't indicate where you are at, it is hard for folks on here to give recommendations for teachers they may know near you. But if you are mostly interested in learning the structure and theory and phrasing of jazz, you don't need a clarinet-specific (or sax-specific) teacher - there are some really good jazz theory and performance teachers out there who cut across instruments.

·
Über Geek, Forum Contributor 2010 Distinguished SO
3,841 Posts
+1 on what Artstove said. Also, if you can't find either a teacher or the opportunities you want to play jazz on clarinet, I'd encourage you to think in terms of *adding* sax instead of switching to it. Clarinet chops aren't easy to come by, being able to play both clarinet and sax well opens up a lot of playing that you can't do if you don't double.