Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a rising freshman at the Hartt school (majoring in saxophone performance) and I have been playing saxophone for 9 years, oboe for 3, and clarinet for 2. What's the best way to start learning the flute? What exercises should I do? Should I get a book? Which one?

·
Distinguished Technician & SOTW Columnist. RIP, Yo
17,204 Posts
A flute embouchure is so critical that you cannot afford to cut corners at the beginning. You need the guidance of an accomplished flute player/teacher for at least a few lessons at the start to establish embouchure.

Otherwise the chances are very high that you will chance upon an embouchure that works at the beginning, and becomes firmly established, but which lets you down badly when the real challenge of flute playing comes - playing the third register in tune, with good volume and pitch control, and getting strong, fast response from the lowest notes. Unless he/she sticks to playing hymns (or equivalent), a flute player eventually cannot avoid facing those issues. Flutes play in the third octave a lot.

You may be interested in these, which have helped quite a few in your position, but they are no substitute for some good lessons.

First Note From a Flute
http://www.saxontheweb.net/Resources/FluteLessons2.html

Flute Lessons by Email
http://www.saxontheweb.net/Resources/FluteLessons.html

Other good resources:

Flute Resource – Larry Krantz
http://www.larrykrantz.com/

Various info by Jennifer Cluff:
http://www.jennifercluff.com/

Flute Embouchure Photos, demonstrating diversity that suits different good players, mainly to accommodate lip shapes.
http://www.larrykrantz.com/embpic.htm

·
Distinguished SOTW Technician.
1,804 Posts
Gordon, good stuff as usual.
+1