Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a high school Sophomore in the USA, and I'm switching to Tenor now that marching season is over. I will be playing in my school's Jazz band and concert band at the same time, so there are a few aspects of my setup I'd like advice on.

I'm going to use a Yamaha, because I've heard good things about them and it's the brand my school recommends, but which model should I start with? I'm thinking of renting a YTS-26, YTS-280, or YTS-480, but the store might only rent student level instruments, in which case I'de have to go with the 26 or some other model.

What reeds have a balance, but a warmer, dark sound? I'll probably start with Traditional Vandoren reeds, but do any of Vandoren's other reeds offer a better balance between Jazz music and Classic/Concert music? I've had some success with a V12 and a V21 on alto, but I don't know if they'd be as good for Jazz band.

What about a warmer mouthpiece? I'd prefer to get a hard rubber or metal mouthpiece that's <$150, and I'd like to go as cheap as possible.

·
Registered
1,207 Posts
Any Yamaha horn would probably be sufficient, just make sure that it's been serviced recently so it's not leaking.

Everyone has their own favorite reeds, so you will get lots of different suggestions. I play Vandoren Traditional (Blue Box) myself. Even though they are marketed as a "classical" reed, many players like them for jazz as they are a bit darker than so-called "jazz reeds." However, if you want something brighter, there are plenty other options to choose from, you just have to try them and see what you like.

Your mouthpiece is actually the most important piece of equipment, IMHO, so I would try to get a good one. For jazz, you'll probably want something with a large chamber and a low baffle. You mentioned wanting a "warm" sound and most people find that a large chamber without too much baffle helps them to attain that.