Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 56 Posts

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Does anyone here have experience, or at least strong opinions (hah!), about switching from tenor to alto? I've seen lots of posts here and elsewhere about moving from alto to tenor, but if there's a good vein of advice about moving from tenor to alto, I haven't found it. I'm an enthusiastic adult amateur, guess I'd call myself an intermediate level player (7 years or so). I'm not sure switching to alto would make me any better musically, and I do love the sound of the tenor, but I'm wondering if, as I age, I might find playing alto just physically easier. Certainly lighter weight, maybe a bit easier to blow, especially at the low end?

·
Forum Contributor 2015-2017
3,219 Posts
This is a bit like comparing girls by simple pphysical features.

Baloney.

You either dig, or you do not.
So play an alto for a while, exclusively.
I was a tenor player, and quite the tenor snob, for many years.

Then i spent some time only playing alto. Quite different. To me, and all that.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2015-
32,933 Posts
I used to play sop/alto/tenor/bari as well as flutes, guitars, and percussion - that was then (in my 20’s and 30’s).

Nowadays (the last 20 years or so), it’s tenor.

Tenor - It’s all that matters. To me. In my not so humble opinion.

But don’t let that stop you. Somebody has to play all those altos out there. Thank goodness it’s not me.

Find your own voice, your own passion.

Enjoy the path.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2013-
5,431 Posts
After I broke my back in two places the alto was the only horn I could carry around for very long.

Not too happy about that, but it is better than not playing at all.

Got a Conn Chu NWII cir 1927 and Gary's hard rubber .076 Ponzol, and finally starting to get a sound.

Its cool. Considering.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
TENOR, soprano, alto, baritone
7,416 Posts