Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am very new at the saxopohone and have never really played anything seriously before. My plan is to constantly practice and sign up for lessons soon...is there anything anyone can warn me about or suggest that I try out? I can't read music and don't really know much about music theory..but..oh well : P

Please let me know if there's anything I should be warned about such as bad habits beginners tend to develop..etc..

Thank you

·
Distinguished SOTW Member/Forum Contributor 2007
1,142 Posts
Just poke around SOTW. You'll find tons of useful information. I'd say another great thing to do, that you mentioned, is get a teacher. You'll make better progress and be less likely to develop bad habits along the way. Good luck!

·
Registered
1,393 Posts
A big welcome to SOTW and to sax playing! I'm no pro so I'll leave it to others to give more seasoned advice except to reiterate what Eddie pointed out - SOTW is a fantastic resource for learning the sax and there's loads of good information for beginners and improvers. Have fun with your alto!

·
Registered
1,832 Posts
Many, if not most, of us couldn't read music or knew anything about music theory before taking up the sax.

Best advice I can give, aside from getting that instructor, is to spend more time playing/practicing your instrument than you do reading about it. staying on-line and researching new info and techniques while spending less and less time practicing is an easy temptation to give in to. I speak from experience.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2014
2,081 Posts
Mike Letus said:
Best advice I can give, aside from getting that instructor, is to spend more time playing/practicing your instrument than you do reading about it. staying on-line and researching new info and techniques while spending less and less time practicing is an easy temptation to give in to.