Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Forum Contributor 2013-2019
1,010 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
It seems that the received wisdom is that shedding transcribed solos is an important part of improving improvisation skills and vocabulary. I have tried this many times but always feel like I am not getting anywhere and then stop. I've tried listening to the recorded solo over and over, I've tried just playing the solo over and over, I've tried picking out phrases. But I'm not making any headway.

I am primarily self-taught, but took a lesson a few months ago with a great sax player I know down in the Caymans to get my improv skills evaluated, and his advice was (of course) that I needed more ideas and to shed transcribes solos. So I really want to try to make it work.

What successful techniques/approaches have any of you used in shedding solos to expand your vocabulary?

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2014
5,160 Posts
Start with something simple and short that you really like. It use to take me a LONG time to learning a solo by ear but I was always starting with some Killer Brecker solo that was just too difficult. Some like to write down the solos and pull out bits and pieces to learn in all twelve keys. I do that to some extend but when I transcribe I'll going for feel, tone, and non-note techniques such at pitch bending, altissimo etc.

The notes are the easy part and there are tons of written transcription book but it's all the other stuff that I need. I would also suggest learning ONLY from the recording at first until you can play the entire solo from memory. Reading a solo is a hard habit to break.

I also use and app called Learn That Song to loop parts of solos - I think there are better ones but I'm use to this one.

Just my 2 cents.

·
Registered
1,197 Posts