Sax on the Web Forum banner
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
109 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I play sax but have always wanted to learn BASS clarinet, if you had to choose between the YAMAHA YCL221 and the SELMER 1430 LP, which would you choose and why? I am new to Bass clarinet and i know most would say a wood one, but they are EXPENSIVE and
i will never spend that much for something i want to dabble in. Thank you.

·
Registered
5,913 Posts
I play sax but have always wanted to learn BASS clarinet, if you had to choose between the YAMAHA YCL221 and the SELMER 1430 LP, which would you choose and why? I am new to Bass clarinet and i know most would say a wood one, but they are EXPENSIVE and
i will never spend that much for something i want to dabble in. Thank you.
I'm not familiar with either of these but I used to use an old Selmer that was very good. If you can't get one consider a Hite, I played them also and they were good. Good luck! Phil Barone

·
Registered
3,454 Posts
For about the same price, the Ridenour bass clarinets have a good reputation. You can get a Low C one for less than $3K, Low Eb is around $2100.

·
Registered
716 Posts
I recently played the new Yamaha 221 for a few weeks. I was very impressed! As a band director I have played a lot of basses in that price range and the new Yamaha is excellent. I haven't tried the Ridenour bass, but I just love my Ridenour Libertas soprano clarinet.

·
Registered
109 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I recently played the new Yamaha 221 for a few weeks. I was very impressed! As a band director I have played a lot of basses in that price range and the new Yamaha is excellent. I haven't tried the Ridenour bass, but I just love my Ridenour Libertas soprano clarinet.
I have heard the same thing about those new 221 II, Great sound for the money, perhaps the reason why they are 200 more than the Selmer 1430LP. I do play on 2 Yamaha saxes, an ALTO 62 III AND MY TENOR is also a 62 III.

·
Registered
602 Posts