Sax on the Web Forum banner
1 - 20 of 51 Posts

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Educate me about Strathon. experience? Criticism? Who plays them professionally? Tone quality? Intonation? Where can i get one? Cost? Webpage? Metal/Rubber? Good set-up? recommendation?

I know thats a lot of stuff for me to ask but i know absolutley nothing about them so any information is good and appreciated.

Thank you

·
Distinguished SOTW Researcher
2,895 Posts
Well, I'm not an expert, but here's what I know. Strathons are rubber mouthpieces with a moveable baffle. The baffle slides inside the mouthpiece by means of a button that protrudes thru the mouthpiece from the chamber to the top of the piece. By sliding the baffle towards the front, you have a brighter sounding piece, like a Dukoff, sliding the baffle away from the tip gives you something more like a Link sound. You can see the button in most pix of the mouthpiece. Because the mechanism requires a channel for the sliding mechanism, they are said to be very leaky (air)

Richard Elliot played one in the 80s, don't know if he still uses it. I think Tom Scott used one ages ago on tenor, doubt if he's using it now.

·
Registered
130 Posts
Frank D is right. They do leak. I put up with this for a long time, because I liked the overall sound I got with it. However, I couldn't play subtone at all on the low end, and at times the low end wouldn't play unless at LOT of air was put into the horn at a HIGH velocity. In other words, the only way the low notes come out is if you're playing loud. Maybe I just needed a different reed, but since I've switched to a different mouthpiece, I don't have any more low end problems at all. I liked the Strathon, but I think there are better pieces.

Oh. Mine was also quite sharp (intonation). Had to be pulled way out, and needed a lot more neck cork (Thicker) than any piece I've ever seen.

It would be a good piece for a rock/fusion band, but that's about it, in my opinion.

·