Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
133 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey I’m new to the saxophone. Got an old King Zephyr bari. I’m noticing a few sticky pads. Is there some regular maintenance I should be doing to keep them working nicely? I’ve seen people using a dollar bill to unstick them. Is that it?

·
Registered
977 Posts
I've used water, lighter fluid, & rubbing alcohol on a Q tip to clean sticky pads. When that isn't enough I put some Pad Life (oil) on the pads, & that gives me relief for a while.

·
Registered
1,087 Posts
I just tried the Yamaha Powder Paper on some sticky pads and, at least for the short term, so far it’s worked great.

·
Registered
191 Posts
Music Medic sells good stuff. Magic powder.
https://musicmedic.com/padmagic.html
I am using it on my sticky G# pad exclusively. And I can't remember when I actually had to apply it last time. Never wears out!

·
Registered
3,017 Posts
Naptha applied with a flattened Q-tip followed by drying with a clean Q-tip works on a majority of the pads I have used that method on. That is then followed by pulling a strip of 1000 grit wet or dry paper between the pad and the tone hole abrasive side down using moderate pressure 2 or 3 times to clean and "polish" the top of the tonehole. In those few cases this doesn't work 100% I remove the key and using my fingertip rub teflon powder into the pores of the pad, blowing away any access. At this point with the key off it is also a good practice to check for burrs on the tonehole and remove them before reinstalling the key. If it still sounds sticky after all of this work, it is time for a new pad.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2015-
32,939 Posts
Hey I’m new to the saxophone. Got an old King Zephyr bari. I’m noticing a few sticky pads. Is there some regular maintenance I should be doing to keep them working nicely? I’ve seen people using a dollar bill to unstick them. Is that it?