Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I just got a used gemeinhardt yesterday, but something is wrong. I just can't seem to get above the Ab in the second octave without the sound giving out. I'm constantly running out of breath, and my tone is very airy. Is this typical for beginners, maybe there's a leak in the pads somewhere that's causing this? Mind you I'm a high school student doubling sax and flute, so I might just need adjusting. Let me know what you guys think.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member/Sax Historian
7,107 Posts
I liked it better at first just blowing the headjoint. Really! Take it somewhere and just hoot. You'll find a sound you like - you'll sort of hit a sweetspot. That is the beginning of a good embouchure, and it's a technique many flute teachers endorse.

Yes, at first you're going to need to waste loads of air. Sit, don't stand. Stop if you get light headed. The embouchure itself is what will solve that problem. As your lips train, they'll be better and better at shaping the airstream and really using that air to make tone.

Leaky pads? If you're getting all the way up to Ab2, probably not. Couldn't hurt to have it looked at though.

The thing to remember is that the flute is way less perfected than the saxophone. It's such an old instrument that many flaws are inherent in it and it's too late to change them. C3 - the second index-finger C - is one of the hissiest, cracking-est notes, and the notes just below it get a little harder one by one.

Take a little interval practice by going from a strong note - say G2 - up to Ab2, down thru G to Gb2 (remember: 3rd finger down, not middle). Then up thru G to Ab again. Then try G, Ab, A, and back down. Listen and feel intently all the while. What do you hear on what note? What do you feel - breath, lips, tension in your body?

Speaking very generally, the flute embouchure is kind of an upward curve in lip tension and opening size.