Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 164 Posts

·
Banned
4,313 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Lately I've been updating my collection of backing tracks to make them more practice-friendly. As a pianist and bassist, I made my own tracks in the past with piano and bass accompaniment only. There were two problems with them:

1. I am not a great bassist especially without a drummer. Unless I work steadily playing bass, my intonation suffers. Bass is not a part-time instrument.
  2. As we get older our hearing deteriorates, and no drums means I had to really crank it up to hear the time, which meant I couldn't concentrate on what I was playing.

I never added MIDI drums because, simply put, they sound like crap.

Recently I got an upgrade to Band-In-A-Box and found its new Real Drums feature. At last, computer generated drums that almost sound like a real drummer. Good enough for my purposes.

To address the bass problem, I use modified BIAB bass sequences played through a gigasampled acoustic bass sample library.

The result is a set of backing tracks that sound more like a real rhythm section. They are unlike Aebersols in that:

1. The time, being computer generated, is impeccable.
  2. The tracks have piano solos, as with a real rhythm section. No bass solos or fours with the drums, though. Can't have everything.
  3. The channels are mixed realistically and balanced rather than being full left, full right and center.
  4. The keys, chord changes, number of choruses, tempos, styles and intros reflect how I want to play a tune.
  5. I can, upon request and for a reasonable fee, change and distribute any of the above parameters for a custom version of a chosen track or to build a tune not already on my list.

My tracks are unlike BIAB-generated accompaniments in that:

1. The piano accompaniments and solos are real. They're not great, but they're real.
  2. I use Sonar to tweak certain spots, such as breaks and endings, that BIAB doesn't do well.