Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 121 Posts

·
Registered
Selmer Balanced Action Tenor Saxophone, Powell Flute
3,600 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First of all I must say a big thank you to Pete (Sactopete) for passing me the torch this month. Also Peter (mrpeebee) for the help, and a big huge thank you to Chris (Chris_Kn) for the backing tracks he made for us!!!!!! I'm super excited, so lets get started!

There are a number of reasons why I picked this tune, but 2 stand out.

1) I am primarily a tenor guy and have never really been comfortable on alto. So one of my goals for 2014 was to become a better alto player. I have been listening to a lot of Parker, as he is one of my favorite alto players, and this is one of my favorite tunes he recorded. It also happens to be the tune I started learning the exact day Pete extended the TOTM offer to me. So I thought it only fitting!

2) The versatility of this tune is absolutely amazing. You can do it as a ballad, or a latin (my fav.) or even as a med/up swing. I've heard great versions in all 3 styles. Chris_Kn even turned me on to a version that is latin and swing ala Dexter Gordon!! For this reason Chris has made us 3 backing tracks. A medium swing, a latin and a ballad version. Both the swing and latin version are 5 choruses long. 2 for head in and out and 3 for solos. The ballad is 2 complete choruses. Each of the play alongs has a 4 bar intro and outro ala the famous Parker Quintet version. Feel free to utilize this as you wish:)

Almost every jazz player ever has a version of this tune and if you search it on youtube you will find a number of great ones. I want to link you to 2 of my favs. Both done by Parker. The first is my favorite rendition and is the Parker Quartet. The second is the more famous Quintet version with the intro I mentioned.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jmSDTCiCup0

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zCoBvEEczc0