Sax on the Web Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 245 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone! : ) I'm a 16 year old saxophone player from Norway and I've been at it for about 8 years. I've recently invested in a selmer mark 7 alto, and I'm playing in a rock/R&B band. I perform on a regular basis and my reason for joining this forum is mainly because I'm looking for good advice on what kind of tenor saxophone I should buy. The first thing I thought of was buying a selmer mark 6 tenor, but saxophones like that are quite rare :/ they are in my country anyway. I'm also interested in mouthpieces and how some kinds of mouthpieces fits for one style and not the other : ) I'm studying music in a "specialized" version of senior high and I'll be going on a small tour with my band soon. I'm looking forwards to both discussing and learning from all of you! : )
-Stian

·
Registered
92 Posts
Re: SOTW new member introductions, 2011 April -

Greetings. Long time viewer who has benefited greatly from the shared knowledge on these forums. Saxophonists unite!

J

·
0 Posts
I'm in high school in America. I play classical ad jazz tenor and am ranked 7th in the state for classical alto.

·
Registered
1 Posts
Heyo, I'm from western MA, longtime player and always learning. Vet of two rock bands. Just re-formed one and we're stripping it back to basics. The band has twin tenors, guitar, bass, drums. I love all kinds of music from all kinds of places but I love to play rock and roll.

·
Registered
24 Posts
Hi everybody, i'm jools iv'e been playing sax for 13 years, started at 36 i'm now 52 and a travelling trubador useing backing track's
and playing mainly the South West of England, i got an old 508 Merc and do tours its tougth making a liveing out of playing,liveing in a van
but i love my 1930's Radio Improved, its so sperited, sometimes i think its telling me how to play it, i love it! its nice to be here with like minded people.

·