Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I decided to take the plunge and got a soprano. I just ordered a BW bronze curved soprano with the AI option. I primarily play tenor but have also recently picked up playing alto. I would say i have been playing sax for about 6 years, though i am still not that great and there were a couple year gaps in there.. I am wondering what size tip opening and reed strength would be a safe bet to start out on soprano, given my prior experience, as i have never touched one thus far. I have been told that these sizes can be very different on soprano compared to alto and tenor. I was thinking of getting a Link HR and i typically prefer java red reeds. I play either a link stm #7 or a metal berg .080 with a larger baffle (don't remember the specifics) on tenor with a 3 strength reed. On alto i play a link stm 6* with 2.5 strength reeds. My budget for the mouthpeice is about $80 or less, which is primarily why i was looking at the link. I would really like to order the mp and reeds online so i can get them before i get the sax. Any and all reccomendations would be greatly appreciated, as i don't really know where to start or if my prior sax experience is a factor.

I apologize in advance if this topic has been discussed to death. I did quite a bit of searching, but the majority of what i found was targeted at sop. players with no prior saxophone experience.

Thanks a lot,
Chris.

·
Registered
272 Posts
I would suggest getting a Yamaha 4 or 5 C MPC and use 3.5 reeds to start. You will find that the reed is very soft to what you are using and you will over control. You are entering a delightful and frustrating world my friend :lol:

·
Registered
1,675 Posts
I would suggest getting a Yamaha 4 or 5 C MPC and use 3.5 reeds to start. You will find that the reed is very soft to what you are using and you will over control. You are entering a delightful and frustrating world my friend :lol: