Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
Registered
175 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

I’d like to get opinions on soprano mouthpiece.

Like every sop player, I want to get a luscious warm tone. I played 4 mouthpieces:

1. Claude Lakey 6: didn’t like it. Hard to play, sounds too bright.
2. Jody Jazz HR 6: very fun and easy, free blowing piece but again too bright.
3. Selmer S80 C: also very easy and free blowing ( maybe too much! ), but not enough round and warm to me.
4. Otto Link HR 6: the one I use everyday.It has the warmest and roundest tone, except in the very low register, but it can be because of the reed.

I use regular Vandoren blue 3 but I ordered a Vandoren sample display.

I’d like to get a mouthpiece that sounds like the Link but with a bit more warmth and easy and free blowing like the Selmer.

Any suggestion? I’m a beginner-intermediate player.

Thanks for your help!

·
Registered
564 Posts
I’d like to get a mouthpiece that sounds like the Link but with a bit more warmth and easy and free blowing like the Selmer.
Have you tried a smaller Link, like a 4* or a 5?

A Selmer C* is .047", a Link 6 is .060". Maybe what you liked on the Selmer is the smaller tip.

·
Registered
Keilwerth saxes (S/A/T), Selmer clarinets (S/B), Altus Azumi flute
1,191 Posts
I'm sure that you will get many opinions, here's mine:

- I suggest trying a Morgan Vintage mouthpiece in a size 5 or 6 facing (the 5 is closer to the Link and Jody Jazz size 6). I've used a 7 as my main mouthpiece for several years now (after trying many others). It's definitely more free-blowing than the Link, but it has a great warm sound.
- I suggest trying D'Addario Jazz Select reeds. I use Vandorens on tenor (which is my main horn) and on clarinet, but I've never liked the way they play on soprano. The Jazz select reeds tend to play darker than other reeds of similar strength

·
Registered
175 Posts
Discussion Starter #4