Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
817 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So when I sit down to practice (tenor), generally for an hour or more, the same thing always happens, I get buzzy.
I was using red box Java 2.5s, moved on to Rigotti Gold 2.5M, and 2.5S, and also now have tried BSS 2.5s, on a TW Gaia 3 Metal 6.
And always, at some point in my practice, everything gets buzzy.
The Java's seem to combat this a bit more, the Rigotti's get buzzy the fastest, and the BSS somewhere in between.
So I took out a Legere 2.25 and evertything was clear as a bell.

I do generate a LOT of moisture when playing, and notice if I take the reed off and sort of wipe off the moisture with my lips and re-start, some of the buzziness goes away fro a while.
So, my question is this...am I just a wet player that needs to swap our reeds?
I am by no means a proffessional, and would imagine this does not really happen to pros in the middle of a show, but maybe it does?

I am not crazy about the Legeres as they hurt my lip on the corners, but do I suck it up and build up my lips to deal, or am I doing something wrong with the cane reeds?

Thanks in advance,

John

·
Just a guy who plays saxophone.
3,577 Posts
Moisture won’t make you sound buzzy. It would seem you might be getting a little tired around the hour mark and the tendency/ habit with fatigue is to bite a little (or a lot) to compensate. Biting the tip closer can give a bunch of different and usually unwanted changes.

·
Registered
1,749 Posts
Buzzy like a lot of edge or buzzy like the crackling sound when you get moisture built up on the back of the reed? I tend to have a lot of the latter and the only thing I know to do is take the reed off and wipe it off. For me it's that crackling/sizzling sound like an old vinyl record with a lot of scratches on it.

·
Administrator
17,276 Posts
I could help when you put more air through the mouthpiece.