Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I’m a decent college student and a solid rock, pop, funk soloist, but I want to get better at following chords like the great jazz players. I know to land on different notes per chord and that you can hop around different scales depending on the chord and so on and so forth, but when I get looking at the chords I always find one scale that works for almost all of them as long as you land on a chord tone, which is pretty much what I do for my other stuff already.
Are there any exercises or anything that can help with this or do I just need to keep hammering play alongs and jazz scales?

·
Registered
2,000 Posts
Most Jazz players are doing something very specific called voice leading. "Playing the changes". Do a search on that and dig in. It takes dedication and discipline to achieve. I like watching Kent Hewitt's youtube tutorials. He is a cool guy and a great piano player and teacher. There are lots of other good tutorials on youtube that get into it. Study music theory.

·
Grafton alto | Martin Comm III tenor
29,542 Posts
Sounds like you are well on the way to getting the concept, but I would lean more towards the chord tones (and the theory behind them, voice leading etc. as mentioned) rather than getting too involved with scales per chord"

Scales are often useful for knowing notes to fill in between chord tones - but basically it's more knowing the "home" scale of the key or key centre rather than a different scae for each chord.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
TENOR, soprano, alto, baritone
7,929 Posts