Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just re-glued some pads that fell off my alto. I kept the same pads but used shellac to re-adhere it to the key cups, this was my first time after watching several videos and perusing quite a few forum posts. However, when I started playing my horn today, I noticed the pads were getting soaked through with moisture/saliva (and one even fell off-maybe related?)

Is there some sealing/waterproofing step that I missed when putting the pads on? Perhaps the pads are damaged and need total replacing? Any ideas? Thank you

·
Distinguished SOTW Member/Technician
4,690 Posts
Pads are either waterproofed by the manufacturer or by a repairer at time of repad, some pads never get waterproofed and are just fine as well.

If the pads you just glued back in are getting all soaked, then they would have been getting soaked before as well, you just had not noticed it

Only a photo can allow us to guestimate if all pads need replacing or not

Steve

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2016
18,176 Posts
Not sure what tutorials you were looking at when you decided to do this...but...if you did it ....and one pad fell out again, then it has not been a very successful endeavor.

Not being a wiseass....but just suggesting that I would not rely on this method you used to have resulted in much improvement.

As Steve says, if they are getting 'wet' now, they would have been getting 'wet' before, as the adhesive material (shellac or glue) would not effect whether a pad soaks or not.

Pics would help. But the thing here is.....if you have a situation where pads had fallen out of their keycups and you re-shellaced them in....some questions are raised:

1) How do you know you re-affixed them in the same orientation which they were previously in ?

2) Did you do this by removing the keys from the horn ?

3) Was there any glue or shellac already on the pad/keycup prior to you applying shellac ?