Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 67 Posts

·
Registered
3,018 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
That's easy. Go out and buy the cheapest vintage sax in the worst condition and start there. :) NOT

All too often I read posts asking for advice on how to fix, overhaul, restore a vintage "beater" where it is the members first attempt at repair. Been there---done that. I was a high school sophomore and my band teacher gave me an old Conn C melody that had been on the shelf for who knows how long and asked me if I wanted it. Boy I sure did. I was going to take it apart polish it, put new pads in, fix everything that was broken and have a great sax when I was finished. You can guess the rest of the story. I ordered a set of Micro Pads (you have to be really old to remember these), most of them were the wrong size and all were too thick and it went downhill from there. Eventually I gave up and sent the sax to Chesbro Music in Idaho, and for $100 they did a complete overhaul including straightening bent keys and leveling toneholes. That was a lot of money in 1962---especially for a high school kid. The moral of the story is don't start with the worst of the worst. Begin at the top and work your way down.

You are probably thinking, I don't want to mess up my expensive Selmer, Yamaha, Yanagisawa, Keilwerth, (fill in the blank). Follow these instructions and I promise you won't mess it up, at least not to a degree that your local tech can't sort it out.