Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I have been playing for almost four years now, getting lessons from a great teacher, practice regularly, and I'm now looking for a mouthpiece that will give me more of a smooth jazz type tone. Currently, I have a Yamaha Custom Z alto sax (I know not the best sax for smooth jazz), a Rousseau NC4 mouthpiece, and a G Meyer 6 facing mouthpiece. I'm looking for the tone of some players like Eric Darius and Dave Koz. I read that Eric Darius uses a Yanagisawa Metal Alto Mouthpiece. Would buying this mouthpiece help me get the tone I'm looking for or should I look for a different sax (or maybe stop worrying about my equipment and practice :))? Is my current setup good enough?

·
Registered
730 Posts
There's nothing wrong with the horn, definately keep that.. I don't know where you got the idea that it was "bad" for contemporary music. If anything the fact that they tend to be brighter would be better, unless I'm missing something here.

Personally I'd just keep what you have unless you can find a quality high baffle piece for not too much cash. You're going to sound like you no matter what you play on, which is something I'm still coming to grips with. A Meyer should be fine for a while, if you want to experiment buy some dental wax and add a small baffle yourself. Sort of a personal plug, but I have a Bionix I'm selling for cheap. Don't know if this would be something interesting for you. It is a pretty bright piece though, might help you get closer without spending too much money.

·
Registered
642 Posts