Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
443 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello!

Yesterday I spent some time examining my Trevor James Horn Classic and found what appeared to me as a small leak. There is a small tone hole near the top B perl key that is operated by a short rod that is depressed by either the B1 or G1 perl keys or both when fingering one of these notes (A1 as well).
I noticed that when I press those keys with normal force the small tone hole does not close completely, I can see a tiny chink between the pad and the 'chimney' on one side of the pad. When I apply brute force to the keys it apparently closes but I would not normally do that when playing the sax.

I am a beginner and I wonder if that could affect my sound in any way. I wrote in another forum branch that I am currently struggling with producing the high notes using octave key.
It is interesting to see that the method used to close this small tone hole (I haven't closely examined other similar keys and pads) is what I would call "analog". The short rod that I mentioned above is depressed by two concave levers through the cork pads so that the pad may be pressed against the chimney more or less tightly depending of the cork pads' thikness and wear.

·
Distinguished SOTW member, musician, technician &
4,983 Posts
I found that sat least in my area, this is a common problem on many saxophones (including expensive ones!). There are a few things that can cause it and you need to look at the sax to know which one. If it is a leak you can see even without a leak light then it is probably a bad one and will almost definitely affect your sound. The sax might also have other leaks that you can't see. If you have a good and trustworthy repairer in your area that's where I would go.

·
Registered
443 Posts
Discussion Starter #4