Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I tried out a vandoren v16 t75 today and completely loved it. Tone was almost exactly what I was looking for. Before I buy, I was just wondering to be safe whether there are any advantages of the other size options, particulary the t77, which I understand has a slightly larger tip opening and a longer facing. I felt that the t75 was the perfect tip opening for me, and because it is so close to the t77, what does the facing length do if it is longer?

Thanks!
Michael

(sorry if I seem naive about mpcs :? , I'm kinda new to it all :D)

EDIT: it's the metal V16, not the HR

·
Registered
105 Posts
I'm no expert when it comes to mpc's (or anything else for that matter) but I do know that it is all personal preference, so if you felt that the t75 was the perfect tip opening for you stick with it. But I would recommend (as I'm sure most of the more experienced SOTW members would) to try them both and choose which ever one you prefer.

·
Registered
1,436 Posts
I have played, and still have, both the 75 and the 95. In terms of ease of playing I find very little difference. The longer table in the 95 offsets the wider tip opening. I tried a 77 but couldn't get it to play which I found very odd. The only reason I could come up with was that it was badly made, but that also seems odd as Vandorens are usually well made.

In terms of tone I found the 95 sounded somewhat thicker, a denser tone but one that didn't project as well for me. In the end I found the 75 too bright with too little depth and the 95 not bright enough. I was hoping the 77 would bridge the gap as it seems to do for others. The usual caveats apply of course, horn, embouchure etc. The V16 is a good mouthpiece, if you can try a 77 then I would but, otherwise, if you like the 75 go for it. There are quite a lot of other discussions about the merits of the V16 and especially the 77 so do a search.

·
Registered
536 Posts