Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I'm just starting out and have a rental Yas-23. I've only been playing a week but I can't seem to put my saxophone down I just really love it playing it. I'm planning on renting this one for at least a couple of months but in the mean time I've been browsing around of course to get an idea of what i want and how to finance it.

So my question is about silver saxophones. I LOVE the way they look but I need some opinions on the pros and cons... how do you care for them vs. brass, which is better silver lacquer or plating, do they sound different, are they more/less expensive, etc.

I'm also kinda drawn about the used vs. new because honestly I have NO ONE that can help me select a used saxophone. I live in the boonies and would probably have to travel to vancouver or victoria to get to a store that has a decent selection. How long should I wait to buy? Did you guys change your preferences a lot? Part of me just wants to buy a nice saxophone (intermediate and up) and have it and cherish it for a long time (my first guitar is still my one and only guitar and it's my really crappy baby so part of me wished I would've bought a nicer one but its got sentimental value to me so even when i bought a nicer guitar, it just collected dust so i sold it lol). I know what kind of sound I like not sure what it's called but i'll know it when i hear it ;)

Anyways if you guys could give me your opinions on the matter it would be greatly appreciated.:mrgreen:

·
Distinguished SOTW Coffee Guru
38,837 Posts