Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Banned
353 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been playing Alto Saxophone for 3 years. And I've been thinking lately, should I switch to Tenor Saxophone?

I have advanced alot on the alto sax.

I can play the entire range of the Alto saxophone, from low B flat to high F with no problems.

I usually play my alto saxophone with a relaxed embouchure.

Should I switch to Tenor saxophone?
What should I expect when I move on to the Tenor Saxophone?

·
Distinguished SOTW member/, Official SOTW Sister
19,209 Posts
Switch... No. Add... Maybe.
It makes no difference how 'advanced' you are on alto, If you can play the 'entire range', or how 'loose' your alto embouchure is.
The tenor is a completely different horn with a whole new set of challenges.
Can you afford to give up time on your alto to devote to a different horn?
This question is probably best left to your teacher. They can tell you if you have advanced far enough to lighten up on the alto practice.

·
Distinguished Member, Forum Contributor 2012-2015
5,878 Posts
You're the only one who should know. Which one excites you the most? When you think saxophone, which one comes to mind first? That should be your main horn. That doesn't mean you can't play the others, just that it's good to have a main horn.

·
Banned
353 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
You're the only one who should know. Which one excites you the most? When you think saxophone, which one comes to mind first? That should be your main horn. That doesn't mean you can't play the others, just that it's good to have a main horn.

My main horn is alto sax. So when I think of a saxophone, I sometimes think of an alto and sometimes I think about the tenor sax. I seem to like the tenor saxophone more because I seem to like the tenor sax more. The tenor seems more involved in Jazz than the alto saxophone.

·
Distinguished Member, Forum Contributor 2012-2015
5,878 Posts