Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

I'm rather new to saxophone. I've been learning it for the past 6 monthes at college and I recently purchased a Yamaha YAS-275. I was using a Yamaha 4C but a Selmer C* came with the sax I bought.

Should I switch right now or wait?

I find the 4C mp easy to control and my tone is more smooth. The Selmer on the other hand causes difficulties for the notes under the C and the tone is different.

Anyway, thanks in advance.

·
Registered
285 Posts
In all practicality, a Selmer C* is a beginners piece. If you are already using the Yamaha, stick with the Yamaha. I wouldn't make any changes to reeds or mpc's until you've really mastered the techniques you're learning, OR (very important or here), OR....you've reached a point where the mouthpiece is genuinely restricting an aspect of your play. Once you've gotten some other more important factors locked in, then experiment with mouthpieces and reeds to find something that defines your style, not just what you hear or see on these silly forums...=)

- Pat

·
Registered
2,549 Posts
My 9 year old,who plays sop and alto,has played on C* mthpcs since she started at age 6. She played a C* on sop at 6 and used one when she started alto at age 7. The older daughter plays on Rouseau NC 3s(alto,tenor) and has used them since she started at age at 9(she's 11 now). I believe using a good hard rubber piece w/ a medium close tip is the way to go for a beginner.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2015-
33,495 Posts
Migraine777 said:
In all practicality, a Selmer C* is a beginners piece...
I'll have to tell that to my friend that has been playing a C* on a Mk VI since the '60s. I imagine her degrees in music performance and education will be null and void. :(

·
Registered
2,549 Posts
Dr G said: