Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
443 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello!

I am an adult beginner (some more details are below) learning alto sax. My setup is Trevor James Classic with a stock mouthpiece.
I am using Vandoren strength 3 reeds. I've been practicing with this setup from the beginning.
Yesterday I tried the reed that came with my sax kit. It was Vandoren 1.5 strength reed. I was really suprised! What seemed to be a real torture with #3 strenght appeared like relaxed playing with #1.5. When I tried this smaller strenght reed I could tongue notes much easier and I could hold a long note twice as long as with #3 reed. I was like walking after running.
I rotate four #3 reeds and they seem to be sounding equally good to me. Well, almost equally.

Here are my questions:

1. I know that mouthpiece/reed combination is always chosen following specific rules: the smaller the tip opening the stronger the reed and vice versa.
How can I find what reed strenght is optimal for my mouthpiece? I cannot make quantitative estimate of my mouthpiece tip opening just by looking at it.

* Can anyone give me advise on tip opening measurements and reed strenght choice? What are the figures (1.1 mm tip opening = #3 Vandoren reed)?

2. I read that beginners are sometimes advised to use thinner reeds to avoid excessive embouchure stress. On the other hand how does it work in relation to the first rule of the mouthpiece tip opening/ reed strength combination? Is that an exception from the rule?

3. Should I by a brand name mouthpiece? How should choose the reed strenght for that mouthpiece? For example Vandoren recommends
A27 mouthpiece for studying classical saxophone. The traditional(blue) reed strenght range recommended for that mouthpiece is 2.5/3/3.5.

What will happen if I use #1.5 reed with that mouthpiece? Will it be hard to blow? Or what?

Here is some information that maybe relevant to my question.