Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been playing bari sax for 3 months now and have recently become a member of my schools jazz band. I was wondering if anyone had any suggestions on what setup i should use to get a TOP doc Krupka sound. Any suggestions would be welcome. Thank you

·
Registered
406 Posts
I've been playing bari sax for 3 months now and have recently become a member of my schools jazz band. I was wondering if anyone had any suggestions on what setup i should use to get a TOP doc Krupka sound. Any suggestions would be welcome. Thank you
It will be a long time before you can attain "his" sound. But I would suggest a Berg Larsen piece with some rico orange box reeds. Gives me a pretty punchy sound.

- J

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
thanks. thats what i meant was a punchy funk sound. not necessarily a copycat sound. would you recommend a metal or rubber piece

·
Registered
406 Posts
I would use metal. Thats what I use and I also find they are a little more durable, which is a plus for a beginner - lot harder to break a stainless steel piece then it is a hard rubber one.

- J

·
SOTW Administrator
26,208 Posts
A berg is a good choice for bari, whether rubber or stainless steel. I would recommend a 0 or 1 baffle.

If you want a great piece, get an RPC from Ron Coelho.

http://www.saxmpc.com

·
SOTW Administrator
26,208 Posts
Ron only makes high baffle and rollover. I play the high baffle. It's closer to a 0 or 1.

Before he makes his pieces, he'll chat with you about what sort of a sound you want to go for, and he'll make it happen.

·
Registered
406 Posts
Bergs are probs a little cheaper if you go used, but if you're willing to wait or have the bank the RPC is a great choice too.

- J

·
Registered
3,720 Posts