Sax on the Web Forum banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
231 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been playing sax now for almost 4 1/2 years and now I am considering upgrading from my current sax. Right now I play a King 660 alto sax with a Vandoren Jumbo Java A35 and Rosseau NC4 Classic. I would like to spend under 1700 including the money I would get for my current sax. What saxophones do you reccommend? Also, what do you thing what be an appropriate amount to get from my King 660? In the past, I have played but never owned a Yanagisawa Pro model bari(played for 2 1/2 years) sax and a Bundy Tenor Sax(played for 1 1/2 years).

·
Registered
284 Posts
Your last comments are a bit misleading. Are you after an Alto,Tenor or Bari? I'll assume alto for $1700.
You could most definitely find a nice used pro level yamaha custom or maybe even a Selmer series II for that amount. If you're looking for vintage, you might find a Conn 6m, King Zephyr or Buescher Aristocrat in good condition, just try to stick to 1935-60. ALWAYS if at all possible, play before you buy. For a King 660, I wouldn't expect any more than $500.

·
Registered
231 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I am looking for alto for those of you who I confused.

·
Forum Contributor 2016, The official SOTW Little S
5,472 Posts
With $1700, your options are somewhat limited. You probably won't be able to get any type of professional horn in that price range unless you stumble upon a deal. Maybe save up until you can afford one of a much higher caliber than your King?

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
14,442 Posts
There are several recent threads on this very topic. Maybe you should read through them all, THEN ask specific questions. As far as the value of your King 660, I don't know what that is, so I won't get into that. But I think $1700 could probably get you into a wonderful old Buescher or Conn (certainly pro-level horns). SAVE

·
Distinguished SOTW Member/Technician
21,290 Posts