Sax on the Web Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hiya, I have been playing alto saxophone for around 2 years now but I have found my saxophone is getting hard and harder to play with each coming practice lately. But at the beginning of this year everything has pretty much gone out the windows and the only thing I feel like I can do at this point well are the fingers. I am currently using a Yamaha 4C mouthpiece, any advices on ways I can improve my playing and embouchure.

Thanks! :)
-Dylan

·
Registered
521 Posts
You can pick a favorite simple tune you like to play that you play well enough to relax with as you play. Play that song as a warm-up. Note how you get better at playing that particular song. Get a solid musical foundation within your playing that is fun and easy. It's good to play things you look forward to playing without stress and over judging yourself. It's usually the fun things that allow us to play without self critiquing every thing we do as we play. When we play with less tension the embouchure feels more relaxed and natural as well as the breathing and fingering.

·
Registered
1,670 Posts
Hiya, I have been playing alto saxophone for around 2 years now but I have found my saxophone is getting hard and harder to play with each coming practice lately. But at the beginning of this year everything has pretty much gone out the windows and the only thing I feel like I can do at this point well are the fingers. I am currently using a Yamaha 4C mouthpiece, any advices on ways I can improve my playing and embouchure.

Thanks! :)
-Dylan
Welcome to the forum! So, when's the last time you took the horn in for a regulation? The saxophone shouldn't get "harder and harder" to play. Have a tech look at your horn to make sure you don't have some leakage going on.