Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This summer I want to buy a new sax. I have come to these two saxes. How do you think, which one would be the best? :?::?::?:

By the way I play sax for 7 years I am looking for a professional instrument.
Any other sax suggestions would be great! :)

·
Registered
46 Posts
Re: Series II Alto Sax Silver Plated VS Selmer Super Action 80 Series II Alto- 125th Anniversary Edi

It is all up to you, I currently play on a Serie II SA80 tenor and I love it. albeit it tends to be an unforgiving instrument.
But this is personal preference, I am by no means a professional but I can tell you that you need to actually go to a store and play the instrument. Every horn is different
I would not recommend a horn in that price range off the internet.

·
Registered
536 Posts
Re: Series II Alto Sax Silver Plated VS Selmer Super Action 80 Series II Alto- 125th Anniversary Edi

well said. need to go to the store, play as many saxes as you can, then go to another store and do the same.

·
Registered
223 Posts

If you don't have the oportunity to cruise as much stores as people here suggest and finally you have to buy it via internet you need to have this in mind:
Second hand SA80IIs are much more common to find than the new 125th Aniversary Edition.This will have a big impact on the price in case you want to sell the horn.
Anyway: Try them if you have the chance.
Good luck.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·

Damn it! :p I don't have the opportunity to try any of these horns...

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·

:doubt:

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·

It is all up to you, I currently play on a Serie II SA80 tenor and I love it. albeit it tends to be an unforgiving instrument.
But this is personal preference, I am by no means a professional but I can tell you that you need to actually go to a store and play the instrument. Every horn is different