Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all. First post here, long time sax player hoping to get back into shape after years of not owning a horn. I haven't played in about 6-7 years, since I graduated college and began teaching elementary music. One of my co-workers had this alto at home and brought it to me and said I could just have it. I plan on giving him $200 for it if it turns out to be decent. Anyone have any knowledge or opinion about this horn? As you can see in the pics, the serial number is 991766, and the only major problem I've found with my untrained eye is the octave key pad has come off. Is it worth taking it in and getting it looked at/possibly repaired if there are major leaks, etc?

Here is a link to a few pictures, let me know if more info/pics are needed and I will do my best. Thanks!

EDIT: In looking through some old posts here, it seems the Signets with the S on the body-to-bell brace are considered pretty decent horns, and my horn has this. However, it doesn't have the left-hand bell keys, which I saw mentioned a few times as being another indicator of being a "good" Signet. Also, I should mentioned that I just got it Friday, and I haven't had a chance to play it yet, since the octave key pad is detached, and I have to dig through a bunch of boxes to find my mouthpieces/ligatures since I've moved recently.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
TENOR, soprano, alto, baritone
7,420 Posts
Its a student model of course, I think around 1980, looks to be in good shape. Made in Elkhart, IN. You can just pop the octave pad off the vent and glue it back into the little cup. I don't think I would give much for it since its almost certain to need some work after sitting in a case for many years. I would play it - probably sounds okay with decent intonation. Lets put it this way - a professional alto player could make it sing. He might not want it as a lifetime partner but he could play it.

·
Registered