Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a wonderful older Selmer Flute that I have been performing on for 45 years now that I've been trying to find information about and amazingly I've had very little luck. I contacted Patricia George at Flute Talk and Sherry Lee at Emerson-DeFord and both had no information and suggested I contact Conn-Selmer directly. The Conn-Selmer website had a serial # list but my flute/serial # is not in in that list. I bought this flute back in 1972 from my teacher, Ronald Naroff when he bought himself another flute - Mr Naroff I believe was a Selmer artist himself at one point.

I then communicated with Bob Licht, Manager for Woodwinds at Conn-Selmer. This was in 2016. He went through their in-house records and told me that: "Unfortunately we do not have records that show this instrument. Some of our brands have awesome historical info, and, sadly, some do not. I wish I could help more."

Just recently I learned that this flute is probably a Model 83: "Custom built Louis Lot Replica, exact duplicate of Lot original tube of hard cold-drawn coin silver, low Lot type soldered tone holes, Louis Lot scale, open holes, handmade throughout, closed G-sharp, made to order, $250." This quote comes from: Susan M. Berdahl, "The first hundred years of the Boehm flute in the United States, 1845-1945: a biographical dictionary of American Boehm flutemakers" Ph.D. diss., University of Minnesota, 1986, 703-705, 727-728).

With that information in hand I did a google search and came across this thread!

$250 in 1935 was quite a bit of money. I wonder if anyone here might know if it's kept its relative value ($250 in 1935 = 4,873.25 today). Or if it's increased or decreased?