Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
2,338 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have read a of how changes were made during the run. Some say early 60k serials plays dark. I only played one and it was not dark but focused and resistant.

I have owned a 123xxx and it was resistant and focused and robust , clean sounding. Kind of a modern sound.

I owned a 98xxx and that was warm and complex and compact.

My 226xxx was focused and kind of a bit dead sounding.

My 326xxx was very free and loud and big but kind of bland.

My 168xxx is clean,focused and pretty big and loud. Medium resistant.

In my opinion the 326xxx was no less complex in sound compared to the 60k. So how would you describe your tenor?

·
Distinguished Member, Forum Contributor 2013-2016
7,891 Posts
326xxx would be firmly into SA80 territory...

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2014
5,248 Posts
I’ve been playing a 97,xxx for almost 30 years. Definitely a compact, focused sound which is what I like anyways. Played a 226,xxx in high school - nothing spectacular but it took me into my second year of college. I did have it relacquered in 9th grade. (I didn’t know better and it was 1983). It was shiny and I was happy. 😀

·
Registered
2,478 Posts