Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi.

I have a Conn Alto 6M (circa 1942). It has a Selmer C** mouthpiece that, by the look of it, may well be an original! From other web sites I think it is a Soloist. I have attached some photos.

Can anyone tell me about this mouthpiece (apart from the fact that it needs a good clean!!)? It seems to have been patched at some stage as you can see.

I am pretty new to sax playing. I enjoy playing bluesy - jazz style. Is this a good mouth piece for that style for a beginner ?

A related question is about reeds. I am currently using a Royal Pico 2.5. Any recommendations ?

Thank you very much,
Murray

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
14,268 Posts
Murray: Welcome to SOTW. Looks like a Soloist to me. That patch may detract from its value, but not from its playability unless the hole went through and the inside is messed up. Probably a good mouthpiece-repairer could make it look better, but that is not my area of expertise (as if anything is my area of expertise).

I've heard some good players who use C* and assorted pieces of that tip-opening. It should serve you well.

Reeds are much like mouthpieces . . . some folks like certain strengths and others don't. The only way you will learn is to buy an assortment and try 'em. Read through the site and do a search - plenty of info and opinions available. DAVE

·
Mouthpiece Refacer Extraordinaire and Forum Contri
3,406 Posts
Can you take a picture showing the shape of the chamber and throat? Based on the pictures so far, I'm guessing it's a very large round chamber on the inside. If so, then I'd call it an Airflow (pre-Soloist). There are some pre-Soloist pieces with a medium round chamber, but as best I'm aware, the horseshoe chamber didn't show up until the Soloist line.

·
Distinguished Member, Forum Contributor 2013-2016
7,889 Posts
That looks like an AirFlow to me also, but I wasn't aware that they made any with facings bigger than C*.