Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I've just inherited this old selmer alto. Unfortunately I don't play sax myself (I've played flute for ten years), but I have i great desire to do so. It looks old, but the pads seem OK (my uncle was a professional musician). As a beginner I think this will be an overkill, so I plan to sell it and buy a new Yanagisawa a901 or a911 and find a good teacher. How much would you think this horn will bring in? Should I sell it private or bring it to a shop to make a trade.

There's two identical heads in the case, and a lot of different mouthpieces (Otto Link, Berg etc.)

thanks

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
2,294 Posts
Don't sell it - you'll regret it later, especially as it's been in the family.

Basically it's worth a LOT of money - even one of the necks (heads) could be worth up $1,000 on it's own. The vintage mouthpieces could also be worth a lot. If you put up some more detailed pictures and list all the m/p's, folk here will give you a good idea of what it's all worth.
Whatever you do, DO NOT bring it to a shop for a trade. Sad to say but you'll almost certainly get ripped off.

I'll repeat - DON'T sell it!! Not at least until you've a very good idea of what you have there - which you soon will, no doubt, as a result of this thread. Then I recommend thinking hard about it whilst taking cold baths every night for a month. No, you've got THE alto sax that many people dream of AND a spare neck with what looks like the original case and a bunch of vintage mouthpieces!! Just don't don't tell anybody where you live!

Enjoy it!

·
Registered
881 Posts