Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
107 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey folks,
For MANY years I have been interested in band instrument repair but have been stonewalled at every corner in trying to learn the trade. Repair techs have been pretty adamant on not teaching the trade, I'm not sure why. Anyway, I am now at a point that I can afford to go to school to learn. The bf and I are planning on going to WIT; however, we cannot get in until Fall 2012. So, in the mean time, I've decided to go ahead and try a few things on my own. Where does one usually start in terms of woodwind repair? Should we start on building our tool collection now? If so, where is a good place to purchase tools and supplies?

·
Distinguished SOTW Member/Forum Contributor 2009
3,286 Posts
I am a hobbyist tech, but have repadded and done basic overhaul work on quite a few horns. I started by reading everything I could, buying a few "student line" horns online (old Martin Indiana, YAS-23, etc) and repadding them. Spent about 1,000,000 hours on each of my first few horns, kept thinking and working and trying stuff until I got them really good.

I've got no doubt that the learning curve is faster in a school, but you can get a pretty good start if you're smart, read a lot, and start tinkering.

·
Distinguished SOTW member/, Official SOTW Sister
19,200 Posts
Start with a good set of screwdrivers, a basic heat source like an alcohol lamp, and a BIG box of band-aids.
A pair of duck billed pliars come in handy as well.
Start on something REALLY inexpensive. If you mess up royally you won't feel so bad.
My first refurb was a cheap plastic clarinet. I learned a LOT getting it back into playing condition.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member/Technician
4,690 Posts