Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
107 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hoping the experts in this subform can help me out. Years ago I owned a 1973 Buffet SDA tenor and thought it was a really solid player. At the moment I have a modest budget for my holiday GAS and would like to pick up another SDA (fits the budget and i think these horns offer alot of bang for the buck). Came across the following and am hoping the experts can weigh in ... does this look like original lacquer? Engraving looks pretty crisp to my eyes and nothing jumps out to me as a relaquer (ie, you sometimes see the BC brace lacquered over) but then again i am not a buffet expert and hope to tap into the collective wisdom of SOTW.

Many thanks in advance!

·
Registered
181 Posts
Looks to be the right color, but would need to see some better pictures of the engraving Buffet didn't have the most durable lacquer up until the 1970's when they changed to epoxy lacquer.

·
Registered
107 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
View attachment 222252 View attachment 222254

Appreciate the reply. What's throwing me is the SN pegs this as an early 60s horn and I thought those had the more honey colored lacquer. I've attached the additional pics I have but will try to track down a few more - not sure if these will be any more helpful. The "Super Dynaction" engraving on the bow looks crisp ... on a relacquer this generally seems more muddled. But the brighter color reminds me of what i saw on the early 70s SDA i had. Hence my uncertainty.

·
Registered
726 Posts
I am no expert. I saw the same listing and wonder the thing question. It is an early super dynaction close to the Dynaction. And all the Dynaction I have seen has a very dark honey lacquer similar to early King Zephyr. In fact, there is an alto for sale in the market place right now at a good price. This one the lacquer colour seems too yellow for that era.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
12,713 Posts