Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So My High School has 2 Selmer Mark VI Tenors (and one Bari), the two Tenor are not even being used and just sit on top of the lockers!!! i was thinking that by my Junior-Senior year ( i am a Sophomore) I could Buy These off my Band Director and fix them up since nobody uses them and possibly he doesnt know they are Mark VI's. i want to know if you guys think this is a good idea?

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
2,596 Posts
Maybe, maybe not. Trying to get a good deal on a premium horn is understandable, but who you are getting it from matters, as it means the seller is getting less than they could. So scoring a Mark VI at a deep discount from a dealer, or even a private seller, is one thing, but doing the same from a public school (I am assuming this is a public school) is another. In a public school, those horns were bought by taxpayer dollars for the benefit of the public.

Assuming the school is short of money (like most are), the best thing for the school and for future students would probably be for the school to sell the Mark VIs for their real market value, and use the money to buy a bunch of Yamaha 23s or other good student horns that would benefit more students.

The fact that they are sitting there unused, however, would tend to indicate that there are not enough sax players as it is, so buying more horns might be a stupid thing to do with the money. What does the music program really need, and could the money be used for that?

On the other hand, if the money from the sale of the horns would just disappear somewhere into the school bureaucracy, and would not benefit the music program, the band director might feel differently, and might want to see those horns go to someone who would make good use of them. But he should probably do that knowing what it is he has.

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter #3