Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone,
I'm new here (late-late bloomer - 48 Years old). I've been playing Alto-Sax for the last 3 Months. I love this forum.. lots of nice folks it seems.

I practice every day for about an hour and a half. I start with long notes and then scales, followed with a few tunes at the end. I learnt all the Major scales, but I thought I needed some structure in how I practice them. So I bought Joseph Violas "Technique of the Saxophone: Scales". Funnily enough, I actually like playing scales (is that wierd? :shock: ).

Here's my question: How exactly is the best way to study this book?
Should I just go through it from front to back at a slow beat and then again faster. Or should I practice each exercise, until I can play it comfortably at a certain speed?
If so, at what speed should I go to the next exercise?

Thanks for any input.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member/Forum Contributor 2008
946 Posts
Welcome. I am a late bloomer too, playing only a year and a half.

Won't someone answer this guy's quetion?

·
SOTW Administrator
26,208 Posts
I think a scale should be learned well enough to have developed automaticity, that is, you play the scale without thinking of the individual notes, preferably memorized--unless you need to reference the notes in order to improve your reading skills.

At your level, I think that evenness is more important than speed.

·
Registered
285 Posts