Owner: Mark & Elke Overton
Phone Number: (314) 776-6416
Email
Specialities: Woodwind repairs, new and vintage horns
Tech: Saxquest and Tenor Madness

·
Registered
1,026 Posts
Saxquest is a very reputable dealer in the U.S. - Mark Overton is pretty universally regarded as a good dealer on this forum. I've purchased a bari and other accessories from them with not problems, and they were the quickest at shipping. I'm sure that this was just an honest (albeit baffling) mistake. Call them -- I'd be shocked if they didn't make it right.

·
Registered
1,026 Posts
Oh, I'm sorry. I thought you had bought it straight from the site. Saxquest itself is very reputable - I have no experiences with their classifieds system, however. I do agree that you are generally safer dealing with the actual vintage dealers - Saxquest, WorldWideSax, and Junkdude to name a few - although they cost more, you get what you pay for, in my book. I know that's no consolation now. Maybe Saxquest can at least penalize or ban this seller from their classifieds or something. And there's always hope that the seller made an honest mistake...

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2015-
34,572 Posts
It's been recently discussed here ("Do we need new rules in the Marketplace?") that you are better off buying from a known person at SotW than the classifieds at Saxquest. Maybe Mark Overton will rethink his policy of providing an unmoderated service when people start using it as a scam vehicle. Sorry for your misfortune.

·
Forum Contributor 2010 / RIP
1,363 Posts
Well stated G. Another place that's rotten to the core for scams is Craig's List.

·
Registered
10 Posts
So, is buying a horn off craigslist a bad idea? This guy was selling a used Martin for 650. I've been in contact w/ him. It pretty needs all the padding, resnators and rods put back on. I'm just not sure, cause it would prrbably cost the price of an overhaul.

·
Forum Contributor 2010 / RIP
1,363 Posts