Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone! I'm a new member to the SOTW forums and I was wanting to see if anyone could answer my questions. I'm a musician in high school right now and I am ready to buy my first sax. There's a Cannonball hotspur tenor I've been looking at and the owner says it plays perfectly, there's just a lot of stuff needing to be cleaned. From the looks of it, the exterior bell is pretty spotted with green stuff in lots of places and on the keys and rods. There's quite a bit of it. I can't see the inside of the sax from the pictures but it looks like there's probably green stuff in there as well. It's not an old hotspur either, it's a recent Stone Series model. Is there a way to take this off, and how much would it cost? Will it corrode the sax? Is the sax worth the effort and money? Thank you in advance! View attachment 222756 View attachment 222758

·
Registered
2,816 Posts
Did the owner say how it got the way it is? Left outside, or put away without swabbing? If the keys and rods are corroded, it's a good bet the pads are too - which means that it will likely need some repair work too. You don't say how much the owner wants, and you don't provide a link to the pictures, so we can't really judge, but having said that...

If you can't play it before buying, then I'd pass. You can probably find a good horn locally, that you can go test (or have someone who plays well, if you are a beginner, test it for you). If you have to buy online, then buy from a reputable dealer instead of an individual on E-Bay or Craigs List.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3