Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all.

I'm still learning but I'm an avid watcher of Ebay which has led to me expanding on my saxophones.

Tenor - Venus
Alto - Jupiter 7 series
Soprano - Paolo Mark

The Tenor is exceptionally easy to play and the Alto is a little more difficult - but the Soprano is in a world of it's own in terms of difficulty.

Notes bend easily, it can easily switch into the upper octave when I don't intend it to, I can produce a wonderful squeak when otherwise unintended.

Basically, is this normal of a Soprano? Or is it just me being a little too "hard" on the mouthpiece.

All saxes have been checked over, all 3 are on Yamaha 4C's and Rico Royals strength 2 reeds.

·
Registered
506 Posts
from my experience, the soprano is a wild animal you need to learn to control; it will quickly reveal any embouchere weakness you may have. try spending some time with it and see if you can subdue it to your wishes.

·
Registered
307 Posts
Dunno about the Paolo Mark, but as I put in another thread, strangely I have a Venus sop. It's a little more difficult to control than my tenor (not a Venus, but similar Chinese brand, could be made in the same foctory). Not wildly difficult though, took an hour or so to get used to it and sound out most of the horn. Palm keys are still a bit iffy, but I'm using quite a soft reed, probably be ok with a harder one.

Dynamics are more difficult atm, i.e. playing quietly doesn't quite work so well :)

All in all, it's not as difficult as I thought it might be given the warnings everyone gives. about it (yeah, I'm still crap, but I can play pretty much the entire range of the horn from Bb to F# reasonably in tune....just a bit loud atm

·
Registered
29 Posts