Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 52 Posts

·
Registered
269 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Alot of people say it's not the horn, it's the player. So if let's say you are a proffesional, and you have the cheapest sax money can buy, and you play John Coltrane's "My Favorite Things".... that's not going to sound diffrent on say a Mark V or Selmer or Martin or any other $3,000+ sax?

·
Registered
60 Posts
Should be closer to the original than ... hm ... let's say let it play by an absolute beginner with a 5000$ horn.

:)

Greetings
Flower Power

·
Registered
29 Posts
I definitely think the horn makes a difference, but not as much as the abilities of the player. Two equal players: one plays a good instrument and the other plays a crappy one, the good instrument is going to sound better. But a good player will sound better on a bad horn than a bad player on a good horn.

From most to least influential (IMHO):

Player's abilities
Mouthpiece and reeds
(some might say neck here, but I don't know, personally because I've never experimented)
Saxophone

But sure, if the discrepancy in saxophone quality is great enough, it will certainly trump the other factors.

·
Registered
784 Posts
Will it sound different?
Probably only slightly.

However, a pro horn will probably have quicker key response and better intonation.

This is my own opinion so take it at face value.

Just keep one thing in mind:
If a horn gets too cheap, it may not be well constructed and end up unplayable in a short time.

·
Forum Contributor 2008/Distinguished SOTW Member
3,295 Posts
THink of it like a mechanic. You can have a great mechanic and if you give him a set of metric tools with only imperial system (inches) parts, he can still get the job done, mostly, but it won't be as quick and easy as if he had the exact matches. Now, give me both metric and imperial tools and the only thing I can guarantee bout your car is that it probably won't run for much longer if at all.