Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,
I am a saxophone beginner (2 years now..).
I can play notes from the sheet music (e.g. fakebook) with an acceptable tone.
I can do vibrato as well as bending notes (need more practice still)
I can growl
I don't have good control for overtones

I realize the music is kind of boring if I just play the whole song following the notes in fakebook and the sound does not contain any character.. (eg if everyone follow the sheet music then we will all sound similar)

I recently came across some terms such as grace notes, split notes, ghost notes, split tone, wha wha effect, slap tongue...............manymanymany lol

As a beginner trying to move on to intermediate level, I would love to add more flavor to the music. How does those techniques help for this purpose and how to use them? is there general rule of thumb in adding ghost notes, grace note?

I always listen to master such as scott hamilton, coltrane, brecker, paul desmond, john klemmer and transcribe exactly what they played. is that a good way to "train my ear"? What can I achieve over time? To develop my own character what theories should I learn? For example, I just learned what scale to improvise over 2-5-1 a week ago. I wonder will it help if I play the main melody from the the fakebook, and add random notes from the dorian, mixolydian and major scale at some point for a song written over a major key to add some flavor?

I bought a book yesterday written by mark levine cause a friend a mine recommanded it. What can I really achieve by learning from his book?

I practice playing third everyday.. (I know it helps but is boring )

I never take any classes, I am trying to master the basics before I find a teacher.

By the way, shall I use a softer or harder reed to increase in low register response?
It is weird to find out yesterday when I use 2 different pieces of vandoren 2, 1 works