Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been playing the saxophone for nearly 3 years now, and I am currently in Grade 8 of High School. Its definitely time for me to upgrade to a new saxophone, and I am able to get a brand new B&S 3239gs/l for $2795 CDN, while on the internet I have been able to find a user selling the alto saxophone for $3400 USD. There is also another Intermediate Yamaha Alto Saxophone I saw at Long and McQuade for $1,550 if I remember correctly. I was previously using a cheap saxophone from a local shop that had plently of leaks etc. What would fit my situation, (see below), and is the B&S worth the 800 dollars? The saxophone will be used for both the Concert band and the Jazz band.

Another thing is that I'm really trying hard to get into the Junior Jazz Band, which my band director says that rarely Grade 8's enter into. The school I go to, is best known for its "Music", so my parents have been keen about me doing well in Music. Personally, I enjoy playing jazz and playing the saxophone, and the competition in the band well probably be fierce since I'm playing the Alto. If I get the Yamaha is it good enough for the Jazz band? Any tips or suggestions in how to get into the jazz band?

Also, I currently have a Meyer 5M mouthpiece that I'm currently using, how will it sound with the B&S saxophone or Yamaha? The mouthpiece I have used for around 2 years now, and I've been using it for both concert band and playing jazz music myself. Should I use the stock mouthpiece that comes with the B&S or Yamaha? Or stick with my Meyer 5M for both? Will it pierce through the band? or fit in?

Overall, I'm just pretty overwhelmed by High School, and would like to hear some suggestions from you guys. Thanks.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
4,147 Posts