Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a 16 year old sophmore and I play alto saxophone at a state level and also qualified my freshman year, and I intend on majoring in saxophone performance at Northwestern, eventually to audition for a military band.
I have always been told that I have insane amounts of ambition and drive, been called a perfectionist, and also been told to "be realistic about my goals" (whatever THAT means...) However, I believe that my drive and high expectations for myself are a major part of the depression I suffer from. No matter how much I try to tell myself that I'm only a high school student, my ears trick me into believing that I need to sound like a professional NOW or I'm not trying hard enough. I psych myself out over the smallest problems in my tone and break down in self hatred occasionally when I'm having a bad reed day. In fact, it's gotten so bad that I've considered picking up a different instrument or changing my intended career path entirely because of the "side effects" I face. It's getting hard to even pick up the horn to practice for more than 20 minutes, let alone the hour or more a day like I used to.